Once again, it’s Fall. I can’t believe how fast the Summer was, and I kinda regret not going biking as much as I could on those hot days of July. But I also enjoy this time of the year, the chill in the air, the leaves changing, and how beautiful it is on every bike ride around the city. This is my second Fall here in Toronto, and I had learned a few tricks to be prepared for biking during the season.

Check it out:

  1. Wear something comfortable and that keeps you warm. The best choice is to wear layers, so you can take it out as you get warmer during the bike ride;
  2. Always keep an extra layer in your bag. And gloves! I already had to come back from a bike ride because my hands were freezing. You know yourself and what you need to protect more;
  3. Have a scarf with yourself too. In the case that gets too cold, you can cover your mouth with it and protect your lungs from the cold air;
  4.  Be careful with the piles of leaves. It can be very slippery, especially when it’s wet. And you could find an unexpected surprise under it;
  5. Check your tire pressure more often. It goes down more easily with the low temperature;
  6. Make sure the batteries of your lights are okay. The days are getting shorter, and you don’t wanna be without light when it gets dark, especially if you’re on a trail;
  7. Always check the forecast before going to a bike ride. I don’t like biking in the rain, but there are people who don’t care – or don’t have a choice. If you’re one of them, make sure you have a waterproof jacket in your bag;
  8. Re-lubricate your chain to protect it from the weather. This is something you should do often, but it can get rusty with the rain.
