September is one of the best months to go biking for myself. It’s not so hot, and you can start to see the leaves changing its colors, telling us that fall is coming. Since it was the hottest August in Toronto ever, I didn’t go biking so much, and I’m willing to compensate that this month. Taking a look at different places and trails to go biking, I’d discovered about the Humber River Trail, or better yet, trails. When I was looking at the map, I thought it was just one trail along the river, but now I had found out that there are different trails to do in the region.

The trail I did (and I couldn’t find the name rather than just Humber River Trail) starts at Etienne Brulé Park. I went until Eglinton Avenue West, but you can go biking until Steeles Avenue West, at Thackeray Park. According to Ontario Trails, the Humber River watershed is the largest in Toronto, and it’s a significant corridor for migratory song birds and monarch butterflies. More than 60 species of fish live in the river including such sport fish as trout, pike and salmon. So biking there it couldn’t be more pleasant. It definitely feels you’re far away from the city, and I would certainly go back during fall, to check the foliage. The trails is also part of the Pam Am Path, that goes from Toronto’s west end, down the Humber River to the Waterfront, up the Don Valley, across the Gatineau Corridor, down the Highland Creek and east out along the Scarborough Waterfront to the Rouge River.

I live in downtown, so I took the subway to Old Mill Station, in the Bloor-Danforth Line, to go there, but came back home biking on Bloor Street, to check the new bike lanes. It was not the wisest idea, since it was rush hour, but it was good to see the the new lane, although a lot of improvements for cyclists still must be done at the area.

 

 

